The New South Wales Rugby Union , or NSWRU , is the governing body for the sport of rugby union within most of the state of New South Wales in Australia . It is a member and founding union of the Australian Rugby Union .The southern areas of New South Wales encompassing the Monaro, Far South Coast, and Southern Inland unions are not affiliated with the NSWRU. They are now within the ACT and Southern NSW Rugby Union .The New South Wales Rugby Union was founded in 1874 as the Southern Rugby Union , before changing to the present name in 1893.