-The Jaguares are a professional rugby union team based in Buenos Aires , Argentina . They were founded in 2015 and are the first Argentine team to play in SANZAAR 's Super Rugby competition, participating from the 2016 Super Rugby season onwards.


Following on from impressive performances by nrut|Argentina in international rugby union competitions, such as a third-placed finish in the 2007 Rugby World Cup , the governing body of rugby in Argentina, the Argentine Rugby Union (UAR), campaigned for inclusion in SANZAR's Tri Nations competition. In 2011, it was announced that the competition would be expanded to include Argentina, which resulted in the competition being rebranded as The Rugby Championship and Argentina competed in the competition for the first time in 2012.However, there was no professional league in Argentina per rules of the Argentine Rugby Union . The UAR launched a team called the Rut Pampas XV that participated in the South Africa n Vodacom Cup competition from 2010 to 2013, winning the competition in 2011 Vodacom Cup with an 11-match unbeaten run. The team withdrew from the competition at the end of 2013 due to financial considerations, but was relaunched to participate in the Pacific Rugby Cup from 2014 onwards. They won the competition in 2014 and 2015 (as the rebranded World Rugby Pacific Challenge ).Despite the performances of the Rut Pampas XV, the UAR still campaigned to have teams included in the Super Rugby competition. Since SANZAR sold the existing Super Rugby package to its broadcasters for the period 2011-15, it meant that no changes to the format would be permitted until the 2016 season.In 2013, SANZAR CEO Greg Peters announced that Super Rugby would be expanded in the 2016 season, adding that South African franchise the Rut Kings would be one of the expansion teams. In early 2014, SANZAR confirmed that Super Rugby would be increased from 15 to 18 teams starting from the 2016 season, with Argentina getting one of the additional spots. It was confirmed that the team would be based in Buenos Aires and that they would participate in the South African Conference. Japan was granted the license for the 18th franchise in October 2014 and the new expanded format and three new teams were formally approved by the SANZAR Executive Committee in November 2014.

Season summaries

The following table summarises the Jaguares' results in their Super Rugby seasons:>
Competition name Season Played Won Drawn Lost Log position C R SF QF Coach Captain
Super Rugby 2016 In progress Raúl Pérez Agustín Creevy
Legend: C = Champions, R = Runners-up, S = Semi-final appearance, Q = Qualifying final appearance.

Current Standings

12Melbourne Rebels10505235:25823
16Western Force10208183:32110
18Southern Kings10109190:4524

Recent Matches

Jaguares Last 5 Results
30 Apr 2016Jaguares73 - 27Southern Kings   Details
27 May 2016Southern Kings29 - 22Jaguares   Details
26 Mar 2016Jaguares8 - 13Stormers   Details
26 Feb 2016Cheetahs33 - 34Jaguares   Details
23 Apr 2016Sunwolves36 - 28Jaguares   Details

Jaguares Next 5 Matches
02 Jul 2016JaguaresvsBulls   Details
09 Jul 2016JaguaresvsHighlanders   Details
16 Jul 2016JaguaresvsLions   Details

Name and colours

The name was initially scheduled to be revealed at the end of July 2015, before being postponed to after the 2015 Rugby World Cup . On 16 December 2015, it was announced that the team would be known as the Jaguares.The name Jaguares was chosen to represent cunning, skill and power. According to the Jaguares official website: "Their sharp instinct and their intelligence make the Jaguares the ideal symbol for our team." The name is also a tribute to the crest of the Argentine Rugby Union , which appears on the jerseys of all Argentina national teams, and as a direct Spanish translation to the nation side Jaguars.


The Jaguares are based in Buenos Aires and their home ground is the 49,540-capacity Estadio José Amalfitani.

Current squad

The UAR have announced several players that have been contracted to represent the team during the 2016 Super Rugby season :
Jaguares Super Rugby squad
  • Felipe Arregui
  • Cristian Bartoloni
  • Santiago García Botta
  • Facundo Gigena TG
  • Ramiro Herrera
  • Lucas Noguera
  • Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro
  • Enrique Pieretto TG
  • Roberto Tejerizo TG
  • Hookers
  • Agustín Creevy (c)
  • Julián Montoya
  • Facundo Bosch TG
  • Locks
  • Matías Alemanno
  • Juan Cruz Guillemaín
  • Tomás Lavanini
  • Guido Petti
  • Loose forwards
  • Rodrigo Báez
  • Facundo Isa
  • Juan Manuel Leguizamón
  • Tomás Lezana
  • Pablo Matera
  • Javier Ortega Desio
  • Leonardo Senatore
  • Scrum-halves
  • Gonzalo Bertranou
  • Martín Landajo
  • Felipe Ezcurra TG
  • Fly-halves
  • Santiago González Iglesias
  • Nicolás Sánchez
  • Centres
  • Gabriel Ascárate
  • Jerónimo de la Fuente
  • Juan Martín Hernández
  • Matías Moroni
  • Matías Orlando
  • Joaquín Paz TG
  • Segundo Tuculet TG
  • Wingers
  • Emiliano Boffelli
  • Santiago Cordero
  • Lucas González Amorosino
  • Manuel Montero
  • Fullbacks
  • Ramiro Moyano
  • Joaquín Tuculet
  • (c) Denotes team captain, Bold denotes internationally capped and TG denotes Training Group players.


    The following coaching team was announced by the Argentine Rugby Union for the 2016 Super Rugby season :
    Name Title
    Raúl Pérez Head Coach
    Felipe Contepomi Assistant Coach
    José Pellicena Assistant Coach
    Martín Gaitán Assistant Coach